Post Surgery, Chest Not Closed

Post surgery. Napkin over chest so I don't have to see his heart beating. His chest was left open for three days.

Post surgery. Napkin over chest so I don’t have to see his heart beating. His chest was left open for 5 days.

I’ll never forget feeling my heart slowing as I entered his room in the CVICU (Cardiovascular ICU) post surgery. Saying I was overwhelmed would be a severe understatement. He had drainage tubes out his chest from his heart, from two spots, IVs in every appendage… it was endless.

I was thankful for the napkin over his chest. All that stood between me seeing his beating heart, since the surgeon left his chest open in case they needed to get back in, was a cellophane band-aid.

He would be out for days.

I could only stay a while, meet with the new CVICU nurse teams and doctors, before they recommended we get some rest. While I didn’t want to leave his side, I knew there was nothing I could do, but wait.

Wait to see if his heart would hold… wait to see… wait to heal.

Leave a Reply

